• Tags
  • Documentation
  • Order
  • Register
  • Login
Duet3D Logo Duet3D
  • Tags
  • Documentation
  • Order
  • Register
  • Login

Weird outline that is not existing in GCode – Hardware problem?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved
Tuning and tweaking
4
26
2.1k
Loading More Posts
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • undefined
    Ted
    last edited by Ted 6 Apr 2019, 21:56 4 Jun 2019, 21:56

    While being very happy with the switch to the Duet Maestro on my Cetus MK1 with E3D Titan Aero, I'm fighting with a very weird outline problem. Currently I'm not sure if this is a slicing problem or just a configuration problem (acceleration, speed, jerk, micro steps, whatever). Maybe you can shine some light on it.

    It looks like this:
    0_1559684390480_signal-attachment-2019-06-03-213607_006.jpeg

    While it should look like this:
    0_1559684473551_Selection_291.png

    Any idea? Is this a slicer problem or a hardware / hardware configuration problem?

    PLA printed at 170°C at around 50 mm/s using Cura 4.1.0 and 4.0.0. GCode file is too big for upload here. Hope this link works for a while: http://www.filedropper.com/rtkbody2

    My config:

    
    ; --- SECTION: GENERAL PREFERENCES ---
    
    
    M555 P2					; Set output to look like Marlin
    G21					; Work in millimetres
    G90					; Send absolute coordinates...
    M83					; ...but relative extruder moves
    
    
    ; --- SECTION: Z-PROBE & MESH COMPENSATION (Z PROBE SECTION) ---
    
    M558 P9 H5 F100 T2000	; Set up z probe to be blt2
    G31 X44 Y30 Z1.55 P25	; Set blt2 offset to nozzle (Z is "triggert height")
    M557 X0:170 Y0:170 S9  ; Set bed mesh grid
    
    M280 P64 S90 		; Pull in blt (not necessary but for safety)
    M280 P64 S160 		; Reset blt
    
    
    ; --- SECTION: DRIVES (MOVEMENT SECTION) & ENDSTOPS ---
    
    M667 S0 ; set corexy off
    M669 S0 ; cartesian
    M569 P0 V100 S1
    M569 P1 V100 S0
    M569 P2 V100 S0
    M569 P3 V100 S1
    M569 P4 V100 S1
    M569 P5 V100 S0
    M569 P6 V100 S0
    
    M350 X16 Y16 Z16 E16:16 I1
    M92 X80 Y80 Z80 E842.487        	; Steps per mm
    
    M906 X500 Y500 Z500 E1000 I60		; Set motor currents (mA) and increase idle current to 60%
    M201 X1200 Y1200 Z1000 E1000		; Accelerations (mm/s^2)
    M203 X1200 Y1200 Z1000 E1000		; Maximum speeds (mm/min)
    M566 X1200 Y1200 Z1200 E1200		; Maximum instant speed changes mm/minute
    
    
    ; Axis Limits
    M208 X0 Y0 Z0 S1			; Set axis minima
    M208 X180 Y180 Z180 S0			; Set axis maxima
    
    ; Endstops
    M574 X2 Y1 Z2 S1                        ; Set active high endstops
    
    ; --- SECTION: HEATERS (HEATER & THERMISTOR SECTION) ---
    
    M302 P1 ; Allow Cold extrudes
    
    ; Thermistors
    M305 P0 B4725 C7.06e-8 H30 L0
    M305 P1 B4725 C7.06e-8 H30 L0
    
    M570 S180					; allow it 180 seconds before giving a heating warning and test hotends wont be tuned.
    
    ; Tool definitions
    M563 P0 D0 H1					; Define tool 0
    G10 P0 S0 R0					; Set tool 0 operating and standby temperatures
    ;M563 P1 D1 H2					; Define tool 1
    ;G10 P1 S0 R0					; Set tool 1 operating and standby temperatures
    
    ; --- SECTION: FANS ( ) ---
    ; Disable Fan 1 thermostatic mode
    M106 P1 H-1
    
    ; --- SECTION: TOOLS (TOOL DEFINITION SECTION) ---
    
    
    ; --- SECTION: NETWORKS (PROLOGUE & COMMUNCATIONS SECTION) ---
    
    ; Network
    M550 3D-Printer                ; Set machine name
    M552 P192.168.118.19 S1         ; Enable network and set IP address
    M553 P255.255.255.0            ; Set netmask
    M554 P192.168.118.254          ; Set gateway
    M586 P0 S1                     ; Enable HTTP
    
    
    ; --- SECTION: MISCELLANEOUS ---
    
    G4 S2
    G92 X100 Y100 Z100 E100
    G90
    
    
    G28	; Home all axes
    ;G29     ; Mesh probing
    ;G1 X0 Y0 Z200 S1
    M280 P64 S90 		; Pull in blt (not necessary but for safety)
    
    M140 S60 ; Heatbed start heating to 60C
    

    Thanks in advance for any hint!

    undefined 1 Reply Last reply 5 Jun 2019, 18:54 Reply Quote 0
    • undefined
      Phaedrux Moderator
      last edited by 4 Jun 2019, 22:44

      Are you printing external perimeters first?

      Z-Bot CoreXY Build | Thingiverse Profile

      undefined 1 Reply Last reply 5 Jun 2019, 18:44 Reply Quote 0
      • undefined
        Ted @Phaedrux
        last edited by Ted 6 May 2019, 21:13 5 Jun 2019, 18:44

        @phaedrux Thanks for your help! Nope, inner layers first. Also tried with an "Extra infill perimeter" that aims to make the infill not influencing the skin. I also tried with better part cooling and lower temperatures (though 170 °C is already very low and there is clearly a movement problem). Thanks for your hint, though.

        Are my microsteps, currents, max speed changes and acceleration values ok for a that setup? Really not sure about that.

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • undefined
          Phaedrux Moderator @Ted
          last edited by 5 Jun 2019, 18:54

          @ted said in Weird outline that is not existing in GCode – Hardware problem?:

          M203 X1200 Y1200 Z1000 E1000 ; Maximum speeds (mm/min)

          Your max speeds seem very low at 20mm/s

          Z-Bot CoreXY Build | Thingiverse Profile

          undefined 1 Reply Last reply 5 Jun 2019, 20:21 Reply Quote 0
          • undefined
            Ted @Phaedrux
            last edited by Ted 6 May 2019, 20:23 5 Jun 2019, 20:21

            @phaedrux I set my speed to 50 mm/s in Cura. Either Cura resets the max speed itself or it just does feel that fast for me. It clearly moves faster than 20 mm/s when printing. With the Trinamic drivers I should not move very fast or I skip steps, I thought?

            Anyway, having low speed should not result in my problem, should it?

            undefined 1 Reply Last reply 5 Jun 2019, 21:59 Reply Quote 0
            • undefined
              dc42 administrators
              last edited by 5 Jun 2019, 20:23

              I don't find the photos very clear but I think the print looks a little hot. So reduce extrusion temperature or increase print fan cooling. 170C is very low for printing PLA so I suspect you are using the wrong thermistor parameters.

              Duet WiFi hardware designer and firmware engineer
              Please do not ask me for Duet support via PM or email, use the forum
              http://www.escher3d.com, https://miscsolutions.wordpress.com

              undefined 1 Reply Last reply 5 Jun 2019, 21:07 Reply Quote 0
              • undefined
                Ted @dc42
                last edited by Ted 6 May 2019, 21:20 5 Jun 2019, 21:07

                @dc42 Thanks for your help! I thought about a wrong thermistor value as well, but for the bed where the same thermistor is used it is working perfectly. I could check with an optical thermometer, but only up to 60°C as my heatbed doesn't want to get higher. Are my thermistors defined right for that type?

                M305 P0 B4725 C7.06e-8 H30 L0
                M305 P1 B4725 C7.06e-8 H30 L0

                Anyways, also wrong temperature shouldn't cause that movement failure. The most curious thing is that the print seems to recover on upper layers. That means that missing steps (hardware) cannot be the problem as the absolute positioning origin is the same for those layers.

                Could it be that the steps are too big or so and more/less microsteps are needed?
                Some thing that I set up wrong with the Trinamic drivers using M569 command?
                (I'm just pointing randomly on things that I don't feel that I completely understood. 😉 )

                undefined 1 Reply Last reply 6 Jun 2019, 08:00 Reply Quote 0
                • undefined
                  Phaedrux Moderator @Ted
                  last edited by 5 Jun 2019, 21:59

                  @ted said in Weird outline that is not existing in GCode – Hardware problem?:

                  @phaedrux I set my speed to 50 mm/s in Cura. Either Cura resets the max speed itself or it just does feel that fast for me. It clearly moves faster than 20 mm/s when printing. With the Trinamic drivers I should not move very fast or I skip steps, I thought?

                  Anyway, having low speed should not result in my problem, should it?

                  Cura will set the Feed rate for the move to 50mm/s but it won't adjust the max speed in the firmware. This would also be limiting your travel speed. To me it looks like an underrun of nozzle pressure on those lines as you can see it start to dribble out and reach full flow as it moves from left to right.

                  I'm not sure why you'd think moving faster than 20mm/s with trinamic drivers would leave to skipped steps. Perhaps if you were using stealthchop that hasn't been tuned. So you're correct to wonder if there is some interplay here.

                  I'm not yet well versed on tuning stealthchop, or if it could be resulting in what you see here, but I do know that caping your speed so low can have some unintended consequences.

                  Z-Bot CoreXY Build | Thingiverse Profile

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                  • undefined
                    Phaedrux Moderator
                    last edited by 5 Jun 2019, 22:01

                    Is the Cetus Mk1 12v or 24v?

                    Z-Bot CoreXY Build | Thingiverse Profile

                    undefined 1 Reply Last reply 6 Jun 2019, 07:15 Reply Quote 0
                    • undefined
                      Veti
                      last edited by 6 Jun 2019, 05:26

                      @ted said in Weird outline that is not existing in GCode – Hardware problem?:

                      I thought about a wrong thermistor value as well, but for the bed where the same thermistor is used it is working perfectly

                      thats because at the bed temperature range the possible error is low.
                      for the hotend it becomes a lot larger.
                      and no the cetus mk1 does not use a semitec 102-gt.

                      it seems its a very unique thermistor.
                      see
                      https://github.com/etet100/marlin_cetus_3d/blob/master/Marlin/src/module/thermistor/thermistor_CETUS.h

                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • undefined
                        Ted @Phaedrux
                        last edited by Ted 6 Jun 2019, 07:16 6 Jun 2019, 07:15

                        @phaedrux Thx for the clearification! I will try to find more information about SC and typical SC settings. Right now it is hard to find beginner friendly information.
                        I switched to an 24V/320W PSU for my Cetus.

                        @Veti Thanks for your help! I thought about an error increasing with temperature as well but had no clue about thermistors. Since you are supporting that conclusion I'm trying to find out what the correct values are. I'm not using the Cetus thermistors any more. I switched to those to have the same everywhere.

                        Right now I still can only find sources (only forum entries out in the internet) that point me to those values:
                        @ted said in Weird outline that is not existing in GCode – Hardware problem?:

                        M305 P0 B4725 C7.06e-8 H30 L0
                        M305 P1 B4725 C7.06e-8 H30 L0

                        I think the error when setting the heater to 170°C is only about -10°C as when setting the temperature to 167°C it already starts to block the nozzle.

                        For the main problem I tried to figure out how max speed, acc and jerk will influence the print quality. I tried out very sluggish settings with XYZ-Cube that turned out much better for corner sharpness. It also introduces the same bad extrusion (suppose the problem is located there!) to the cube where it wasn't that much present before. I could think of just bad jerk, acc, max-speed settings for extruder that introduced that initial problem. At least I now know why my corners were that round. 🙂

                        M201 X200.00 Y200.00 Z100.00 E250.00 ; Set accelerations (mm/s^2)
                        M566 X230.00 Y230.00 Z90.00 E120.00 ; Set maximum instantaneous speed changes (mm/min)
                        M203 X28000.00 Y28000.00 Z15000.00 E10000.00 ; Set maximum speeds (mm/min)

                        I will need to find better settings – The printer now accelerates so slow that I always have to laugh watching it.
                        Can someone of you recommend any process to find those settings?

                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                        • undefined
                          Veti
                          last edited by 6 Jun 2019, 07:39

                          @ted said in Weird outline that is not existing in GCode – Hardware problem?:

                          I'm not using the Cetus thermistors any more. I switched to those to have the same everywhere

                          that thermistor has a beta value of 3950. Your configuration is for a semitec 120-gt.

                          the problem with the 3950 thermistors is that the beta value is only accurate for the range of 25-50C. i have not seen good accurate values that can be used for the duet yet.

                          undefined 1 Reply Last reply 6 Jun 2019, 09:24 Reply Quote 0
                          • undefined
                            dc42 administrators @Ted
                            last edited by dc42 6 Jun 2019, 08:01 6 Jun 2019, 08:00

                            @ted said in Weird outline that is not existing in GCode – Hardware problem?:

                            @dc42 Thanks for your help! I thought about a wrong thermistor value as well, but for the bed where the same thermistor is used it is working perfectly. I could check with an optical thermometer, but only up to 60°C as my heatbed doesn't want to get higher. Are my thermistors defined right for that type?

                            M305 P0 B4725 C7.06e-8 H30 L0
                            M305 P1 B4725 C7.06e-8 H30 L0

                            Delete the H30 L0. Those two parameters are normally needed only on older Duets (06 and 085). In other respects, the parameters are correct if you are using the Semitec 100K thermistor as used on E3D hot ends.

                            Anyways, also wrong temperature shouldn't cause that movement failure. The most curious thing is that the print seems to recover on upper layers. That means that missing steps (hardware) cannot be the problem as the absolute positioning origin is the same for those layers.

                            I didn't see anything to indicate missing steps. Can you point out where you think they are?

                            Duet WiFi hardware designer and firmware engineer
                            Please do not ask me for Duet support via PM or email, use the forum
                            http://www.escher3d.com, https://miscsolutions.wordpress.com

                            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                            • undefined
                              Ted @Veti
                              last edited by 6 Jun 2019, 09:24

                              @veti @dc42 I actually thought I bought semitecs. Oops! I will than try to replace the thermistors with semitecs (or others?) then and for the moment try to find somewhat suitable settings for my NTC 3950 100K until switched. Thanks for pointing out!

                              @dc42 You misread my post: I'm excluding missed steps as a cause for my problem because the print recovers on higher layers. I now rather think that wrong Acc/Jerk/Speed settings are the problem. And hope someone can recommend a good way/process to figure out what the best settings are.

                              undefined 1 Reply Last reply 6 Jun 2019, 15:06 Reply Quote 0
                              • undefined
                                Veti
                                last edited by 6 Jun 2019, 09:26

                                @ted said in Weird outline that is not existing in GCode – Hardware problem?:

                                I will than try to replace the thermistors with semitecs (or others?)

                                semitecs are the most used due to them beeing in the e3d hotends.
                                therefor a good choice

                                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                                • undefined
                                  Veti
                                  last edited by 6 Jun 2019, 09:51

                                  since there is no real standard for B3950 they can vary a lot at higher temperatures.
                                  using this https://www.makeralot.com/download/Reprap-Hotend-Thermistor-NTC-3950-100K.pdf
                                  i get
                                  β: 4666 K
                                  C : 1.072747e-7

                                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                                  • undefined
                                    Veti
                                    last edited by 6 Jun 2019, 10:00

                                    comparing that with https://atcsemitec.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/Semitec-NT-4-Glass-NTC-Thermistor.pdf

                                    170C with semitec configuration on a B3950 from the table above would correspond to 153C

                                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                                    • undefined
                                      Phaedrux Moderator @Ted
                                      last edited by 6 Jun 2019, 15:06

                                      @ted said in Weird outline that is not existing in GCode – Hardware problem?:

                                      And hope someone can recommend a good way/process to figure out what the best settings are.

                                      I've got a detailed tuning guide in the works, but in the meantime, perhaps you can try some settings similar to the default Cetus values?

                                      It looks like the values you posted in your last post match the values used by this user? https://forum.duet3d.com/topic/7709/controlling-a-cetus3d-with-duet3d-0-8-5/4

                                      The Cetus isn't a fast printer, but I would think that acceleration values in the 400-600 range should be doable. And for jerk I would think the same 400-600 range would be alright. Print speed in the 40-60mm/s range. That's probably where I'd start tuning anyway.

                                      Z-Bot CoreXY Build | Thingiverse Profile

                                      undefined 1 Reply Last reply 6 Jun 2019, 21:23 Reply Quote 1
                                      • undefined
                                        Ted @Phaedrux
                                        last edited by Ted 6 Jul 2019, 10:02 6 Jun 2019, 21:23

                                        @phaedrux That's the post I found them in. Will try out your values as a starting point. Thanks! At the moment the printer is much slower than usual with the settings from the post. It looks so ridiculous! It looks drunk.
                                        I am looking forward to your tuning guide – Great that you are doing this! 🙂

                                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                        • undefined
                                          Ted
                                          last edited by Ted 6 Jul 2019, 22:26 7 Jun 2019, 22:23

                                          I've found another problem that I want to solve first as it more pronounced, easier reproducible and might even have the same cause:

                                          Looking at the following image (A standard XYZ test cube) the printer "lays its sausage" for the three perimeter walls counter-clock-wise around the already printed infill, starting at the most inner perimeter line and stopping at the most outer.

                                          0_1559944666179_signal-attachment-2019-06-07-232923 (marked).jpeg

                                          On the image I have drawn red and blue arrows for the movement. The red arrows indicate the problem area: Instead of doing a 90° corner the printer cuts the corner starting about 1 mm bevor it in a much smaller angle.

                                          This was printed with PLA (same settings as above) at 20mm/s using Cura 4.1.0.

                                          While it does look very small on the image, it is very noticeable and ugly holding the print in the hand. Every 90°-to-the-left corner does have a phase of 1 mm. Text printed on top of things is hardly readable.
                                          Curious about it is also that when looking at previous prints made before switching to Duet Maestro and to Cura with the same setup no such round corners are visible. They all are crisp!

                                          At the moment I think this is some hardware configuration problem as the problem is invisible looking at the gcode:

                                          0_1559945302010_daaf6026-39a5-4d17-8f4d-4c197faa2a2b-image.png

                                          I don't know what causes this. I have no clue. Hopefully you have one!

                                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                          7 out of 26
                                          • First post
                                            7/26
                                            Last post
                                          Unless otherwise noted, all forum content is licensed under CC-BY-SA