code ???? o k then ???



  • as i navigate thru the different files i notice things that were changed. My inexperience with code makes me ask some of the simplest questions. hope you guys don't mind.... the changes im talking about has to do with obscure entries like mention of a bl touch in several files or the fact that the end stop settings were changes " my question would be" if i changed a setting in the g-code, does it change and add thing to other places and if it does when its changed back does it revert to the original setting or does one have to go thru the entire files to remove the things no longer needed such as config.g...... home all......yhome.... ect. besides the lack of coding knowledge, one need to understand the system an how it react to an individual entry or command thanks again


  • Moderator

    Can you give a specific example of what you mean? I'm not exactly sure what you're asking.

    Generally though, if you send a gcode to configure something, either manually or in config.g, it will stay in effect until another gcode is sent that alters it.

    Some gcodes work in concert with other things, for example, M558, M557, and G31 are used to configure the behaviour of G29 and G30.

    Endstops are configured with M547 and interact with homing moves using G1 H1, and take values from M208 when an endstop is hit.



  • ell for instance i have two entries on M558 i haveM558.... P5 H5 f100 t2000
    and
    m558 558 P9 H5 F100 T4000

    so im assuming (dont remeber) i typed in the P 9 line and that added all the other stuff??
    ops, 😄


  • Moderator

    Well if both of those lines are in config.g then the later one will take over the earlier one. At least if they both have the same parameters. If the earlier one has parameters that the second one didn't, it would carry over that setting from the first one. And in addition, for some commands, including M558 in later firmwares with multiple probe support, it may depend on which piece of hardware is being targeting, such as the probe type.

    Example

    M558 P9 H3 F100 T2000 A10 B1
    M558 P9 H5 F60 T2000 
    

    If you sent those two commands in sequence, the resulting setting would be
    M558 P9 H5 F60 T2000 A10 B1

    This can actually be useful for modifying just a couple parameters when needed like in the homeall you can use this to have a single fast probe, and then a slower multi probe with

    M558 A1 F400			; Set single probing at faster feed rate
    G30 				; Do a single probe to home our Z axis
    M558 A10 F100			; Set multi probing at slower feed rate
    G30				; Probe again to get a more accurate position
    

    So it is important to have some coding hygiene and keep your commands tidy and remove any duplicates.



  • so what i thing i did!!! no way i remeber, but i think when i added the p9 line it swiched a lot of things just not sure like stall, endstops and added bl touch

    if im right in my assumptions i would remove the entre second line go back to P5 and redo the z sensor or inductive which is the P5 line????


  • Moderator

    If you're using a BLTouch you should use P9.

    You can post your config.g if you want some clarity.



  • please
    ; Configuration file for Duet WiFi (firmware version 1.21)
    ; executed by the firmware on start-up
    ;
    ; generated by RepRapFirmware Configuration Tool on Thu Sep 06 2018 21:21:12 GMT-0700 (Pacific Daylight Time)

    ; General preferences
    G90 ; Send absolute coordinates...
    M83 ; ...but relative extruder moves

    ; Network
    M550 Pe3 ; Set machine name
    M552 S1 ; Enable network
    ;*** Access point is configured manually via M587
    M586 P0 S1 ; Enable HTTP
    M586 P1 S0 ; Disable FTP
    M586 P2 S0 ; Disable Telnet

    ; Drives
    M569 P0 S0 ; Drive 0 goes forward
    M569 P1 S1 ; Drive 1 goes backwards
    M569 P2 S1 ; Drive 2 goes forwards
    M569 P3 S0 ; Drive 3 goes backwards

    M569 P3 S1 ; Drive 3 (Extruder 0) goes backwards

    M350 X16 Y16 Z16 E16 I1 ; Configure microstepping with interpolation
    ; M92 X79.7 Y79.6 Z400.4 E96 ; Set steps per mm
    M92 X79.2 Y79.2 Z400.5 E96 ; Set steps per mm

    M566 X600 Y600 Z24 E300 ; Set maximum instantaneous speed changes (mm/min)
    M203 X30000 Y30000 Z300 E1500 ; Set maximum speeds (mm/min)
    M201 X300 Y300 Z100 E5000 ; Set accelerations (mm/s^2) was 500 you changed it to 300 for stall guard
    M906 x950 Y950 Z850 E950 I30 ; Set motor currents (mA) and motor idle factor in per cent
    M84 S300 ; Set idle timeout

    ; Axis Limits
    ; M208 X-5.5 Y-10 Z0 S1 ; Set axis minima
    ; M208 X258.5 Y246 Z260 S0 ; Set axis maxima

    M208 X0 Y0 Z0 S1 ; Set axis minima
    M208 X500 Y500 Z500 S0 ; Set axis maxima

    ; Endstops
    M574 X0 Y0 Z0 S1 ; Set endstops controlled by motor l

    ; Z-Probe
    ; M558 P5 H5 F100 T2000 ; Set Z probe type to bltouch and the dive height + speeds
    M558 P9 H5 F100 T4000 ; Set Z probe type to bltouch and the dive height + speeds
    G31 P500 X-42 Y-5 Z1.35 ; Set Z probe trigger value, offset and trigger height - is Nozzle hoger

    M557 X15:215 Y35:215 S20 ; Define mesh grid

    ; Heaters
    M305 P0 T100000 B4138 R4700 ; Set thermistor + ADC parameters for heater 0
    M143 H0 S120 ; Set temperature limit for heater 0 to 80C
    M305 P1 T100000 B4400 R4700 ; Set thermistor + ADC parameters for heater 1
    M143 H1 S280 ; Set temperature limit for heater 1 to 240C

    ; M307 H1 A245.3, C121.7, D4.0, S0.5 ; PID

    ; Fans
    ; M106 P0 S1 I0 F500 H T45 ; Set fan 0 value, PWM signal inversion and frequency. Thermostatic control is turned on
    ; M106 P1 S0 I0 F500 H-1 ; Set fan 1 value, PWM signal inversion and frequency. Thermostatic control is turned off

    M106 P0 S0 I0 F500 H-1 ; Set fan 0 value, PWM signal inversion and frequency. Thermostatic control is turned off
    M106 P1 S1 I0 F500 H1 T45 ; Set fan 1 value, PWM signal inversion and frequency. Thermostatic control is turned on

    ; Tools
    M563 P0 D0 H1 ; Define tool 0
    G10 P0 X0 Y0 Z0 ; Set tool 0 axis offsets
    G10 P0 R0 S0 ; Set initial tool 0 active and standby temperatures to 0C

    ; Automatic saving after power loss is not enabled
    ; Custom settings are not configured

    ; BLTouch - Heaters
    M307 H3 A-1 C-1 D-1 ; Disable heater on PWM channel for BLTouch

    ; Enable Bed Leveling
    G29 S1 ; Enable Mesh Bed Leveling


  • Moderator

    @ziggymanpopo said in code ???? o k then ???:

    ; Endstops
    M574 X0 Y0 Z0 S1 ; Set endstops controlled by motor l

    Part of your problem might be that you have set it so you have no endstops.

    https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Gcode#Section_M574_Set_endstop_configuration

    @ziggymanpopo said in code ???? o k then ???:

    ; Enable Bed Leveling
    G29 S1 ; Enable Mesh Bed Leveling

    You should not load the heightmap in config.g Move it to your slicer start gcode after homing with G28 instead.



  • using capasitive sensor


  • Moderator

    Ok, but M574 X0 Y0 Z0 means no endstop at all... You must tell it if it's at the high or low end of travel with 1 or 2.

    Please read the M574 wiki entry



  • yup thats the heart of the problem i know most of the stuff that needs chainging but fearfull ill do more damage than good ... it was working and producing pretty good prints what i am doing might help you understand what i'm asking i have or what used to be a cr10-s5 duet 2 wifi with lots of upgrades
    the ringing was pronounced. i installed a 16/05 ball screw ill change the steps to 6400 according to the math, but not until i get the y sw. to work again. stall worked fine until i upgraded to linear rails an a ball screw did not think stall would be good for the tork it provides
    all that said i know its time to address my software issues ...im starting to get it sucks being a newbie lol.


  • Moderator

    OK, well you need to specify at which end of the axis travel the endstop is going to be. M574 X1 Y1 for the low ends. Then use the S parameter to choose your switch type, either normally open or normally closed. Try with S1 and S2 and see which will show as triggered or not triggered in the machine properties tab.

    How do you have the capacitive sensor wired? What kind of a switch does it act like?



  • changed the stops to M574 x1 y1 z1 s1 still they dont work
    check this out when i type inM588 i get this

    Z Probe type 9, input 0, invert no, dive height 5.0mm, probe speed 100mm/min, travel speed 4000mm/min, recovery time 0.00 sec, heaters normal, max taps 1, max diff 0.03

    isn't this the root of my evil ptoblem



  • im thinking i should type in m558 P5?????


  • Moderator

    No. The z probe has nothing to do with your endstops.



  • ok where did the stall feature come from then the docs say if stall is active endstops wont work im trying to understand did it com from M307


  • Moderator

    Stall detection as an endstop is defined by M574 S3.

    M307 is to configure heater parameters. Not related.

    What exactly is not working?

    If you have changed the Y axis to use the ball screw, have you changed the steps per mm yet?



  • all 3 endstop limits limits let me reboot and ill try again



  • could my prob be in the 4 home files
    ; homeall.g

    G91 ; relative positioning
    G1 S2 X0.2 Y0.2 Z0.2 ; Move all axis 0.2 mm, clear stall status
    M98 Pdeployprobe.g ; deploy mechanical Z probe

    ; x and y Sensor less homing
    M400 ; make sure everything has stopped before we make changes
    M915 X S2 Y S3 R0 F0 ; set X and Y sensitivity, do nothing when stall, unfiltered
    M574 X1 Y1 S3 ; set endstops to use motor stall
    G1 S2 Z10 F1200 ; lift Z
    G1 S1 X-265 Y-260 F5000 ; move X and Y back, stopping at the end stop
    M400 ; make sure everything has stopped
    G90 ; back to absolute mode

    ;G1 X115 Y115 F12000 ; Move to center of bed and home Z
    G1 X127 Y134 F6000 ; go to first bed probe point and home Z
    G30 ; home Z by probing the bed

    M915 X S10 Y S10 R3 F0 ; set X and Y sensitivity to -0, when stall home XY and resume print, filtered so it takes 4 steps to figure out it has stalled

    M98 Pretractprobe.g ; retract mechanical Z probe



  • what does a guy remove ?? replace???



  • So i think i get this now,, your gonna laugh,,, not ever having worked with this stuff can i assume everything after the ; is a "note" to the specific g or m code entry??.. everything before is the ; actual "Working code" notes to remind me what I've done in the future?? the notes are not attached to the software in any way???? so if i make a change the notes stay the same ?? so lets say, i want to get rid of stall.... lets say its set at S3 (example) all i would do is change the S1 and change the note to somthing like endstop sw. n/o so i remember in the future ??


  • Moderator

    Yes, everything after a ; is a comment that isn't used by the firmware.



  • so the only thing i need to change is M574 X1 Y1 Z1 S3.........to S1 in my homeall file like i did in config.g


  • Moderator

    @ziggymanpopo said in code ???? o k then ???:

    M98 Pdeployprobe.g ; deploy mechanical Z probe

    Yes, remove the M574 from the homeall, and the probedeploy and retract. And the M915 line.



  • what do i do with this ???
    M915 X S2 Y S3 R3 F0 ; set X and Y sensitivity to 0, when stall home XY and resume print, filtered so it takes 4 steps to figure out it has stalled
    do i delete this whole line ? home x & home y. files both have M915

    o k thats the best guess i have 🙂


Log in to reply