New Duet 2 extruder not working



  • Hello. Im setting up duet2 on corexy machine x,y,z axis are homing, so i proceed to extruder on DWC after sending G1 E100 F2000 extruder motor just hums and not drive. Have plugged x motor into extruder driver and same humming. Extruder stepper works if plugged into X driver. Any help please. I have cold extrude enabled.



  • is the cable attached to the motor or is it a plug? when you moved the extruder to x did you move the wiring as well?


  • Moderator

    Do the other axis work?
    Do you have the correct motor current set?
    Do you have the correct steps per mm set for the extruder?
    Does the motor work if removed from the extruder assembly?
    Have you tried a slower speed like F60?



  • @Veti The cable to the extruder motor is a plug in type. Yes when I moved the extruder to x ,I moved the wiring as well, so yes took the extruder plug out of Duet board and plugged it into X axis driver



  • @Phaedrux Yes the xy and z axis work fine, motor current set at 950 ma using rrf configurator tool. The stepper motor I have already removed from extruder and still no go. I sent G1 E100 F100 via dwc and tool status says "busy" and slight humming from ext motor but thats all, steps per mm set at E420 The extruder was working fine with the old board, I hope this is a config problem and not faulty driver, Im using all 5 stepper drivers because Im running dual Z using Z1 and E1 drivers


  • Moderator

    Post your config.g
    Post the results of M122 and M98 P"config.g"
    When and where did you purchase the Duet?



  • 10/6/2020, 12:14:59 PM M98P"config.g"
    HTTP is enabled on port 80
    FTP is disabled
    TELNET is disabled
    Error: GCodes: Attempt to read a GCode unsigned array that is too long: M350 X16 Y16 Z16 E16: I1
    Error: GCodes: Attempt to read a GCode float array that is too long: M92 X80.00 Y80.00 Z4000.00 E420.00:420.00
    Error: GCodes: Attempt to read a GCode float array that is too long: M566 X900.00 Y900.00 Z12.00 E120.00:120.00
    Error: GCodes: Attempt to read a GCode float array that is too long: M203 X6000.00 Y6000.00 Z180.00 E1200.00:1200.00
    Error: GCodes: Attempt to read a GCode float array that is too long: M201 X500.00 Y500.00 Z20.00 E250.00:250.00
    Error: GCodes: Attempt to read a GCode float array that is too long: M906 X800 Y800 Z800 E800:800 I30
    Error: M563: Tool creation: bad drive number
    Error: G10: Attempt to set/report offsets and temperatures for non-existent tool: 1
    Error: G10: Attempt to set/report offsets and temperatures for non-existent tool: 1



  • ; executed by the firmware on start-up
    ;
    ; generated by RepRapFirmware Configuration Tool v2.1.8 on Wed May 06 2020 16:21:04 GMT+0800 (中国标准时间)

    ; General preferences
    G90 ; send absolute coordinates...
    M83 ; ...but relative extruder moves
    M550 P"My Printer" ; set printer name
    M669 K1 ; core xy mode
    M555 P2 ; set output to look like marlin
    G21 ; work in mm,s
    ; Network
    M552 S1 ; enable network
    M586 P0 S1 ; enable HTTP
    M586 P1 S0 ; disable FTP
    M586 P2 S0 ; disable Telnet

    ; Drives
    M569 P0 S1 ; physical drive 0 goes forwards
    M569 P1 S1 ; physical drive 1 goes forwards
    M569 P2 S0 ; physical drive 2 goes backwards
    M569 P3 S0 ; physical drive 3 goes backwards
    M569 P4 S0 ; physical drive 4 goes backwards
    ;Dual Z
    M584 X0 Y1 Z2:4 E3 ;
    M671 X-100:415 Y160:160 S2.0 ;
    M350 X16 Y16 Z16 E16: I1 ; configure microstepping with interpolation
    M92 X80.00 Y80.00 Z4000.00 E420.00:420.00 ; set steps per mm
    M566 X900.00 Y900.00 Z12.00 E120.00:120.00 ; set maximum instantaneous speed changes (mm/min)
    M203 X6000.00 Y6000.00 Z180.00 E1200.00:1200.00 ; set maximum speeds (mm/min)
    M201 X500.00 Y500.00 Z20.00 E250.00:250.00 ; set accelerations (mm/s^2)
    M906 X800 Y800 Z800 E800:800 I30 ; set motor currents (mA) and motor idle factor in per cent
    M84 S30 ; Set idle timeout

    ; Axis Limits
    M208 X-100 Y-30 Z0 S1 ; set axis minima
    M208 X310 Y310 Z380 S0 ; set axis maxima

    ; Endstops
    M574 X1 Y1 S0 ; set active low and disabled endstops
    ;Filament Run Out Sensor
    M591 D0 P1 C4 S1; Filament run out sensor for extruder E0 on E1 end stop input P1 = signal HIGH .
    ; Z-Probe
    M574 Z1 S2;
    M558 P1 H3 F120 A10 S0.03 I1 ; set endstops controlled by probe
    M558 P1 H5 F120 T6000 ; disable Z probe but set dive height, probe speed and travel speed
    M557 X15:215 Y15:195 S20 ; define mesh grid

    ; Heaters
    M305 P0 T100000 B3950 R4700 ; set thermistor + ADC parameters for heater 0
    M143 H0 S120 ; set temperature limit for heater 0 to 120C
    M305 P1 T100000 B3950 R4700 ; set thermistor + ADC parameters for heater 1
    M143 H1 S280 ; set temperature limit for heater 1 to 280C
    M305 P2 T100000 B3950 R4700 ; set thermistor + ADC parameters for heater 2
    M143 H2 S280 ; set temperature limit for heater 2 to 280C

    ; Fans
    M106 P0 S0 I0 F500 H-1 ; set fan 0 value, PWM signal inversion and frequency. Thermostatic control is turned off
    M106 P1 S1 I0 F500 H1:2 T45 ; set fan 1 value, PWM signal inversion and frequency. Thermostatic control is turned on

    ; Tools
    M563 P0 D0 H1 S"Extruder" ; define tool 0
    G10 P0 X0 Y0 Z0 ; set tool 0 axis offsets
    G10 P0 R0 S0 ; set initial tool 0 active and standby temperatures to 0C
    M563 P1 D1 H2 F0 ; define tool 1
    G10 P1 X0 Y0 Z0 ; set tool 1 axis offsets
    G10 P1 R0 S0 ; set initial tool 1 active and standby temperatures to 0C
    T0;
    M302 P1
    ; Custom settings are not defined
    M575 P1 S1 B57600; Enable paneldue



  • @Phaedrux Duet2 ethernet purchased from Official reprap store thru aliexpress , July 2020, along with 4" paneldue


  • Moderator

    Do you have two tools? Your config has two tools defined, but only 1 driver setup as a an extruder.


  • Moderator

    @GG said in New Duet 2 extruder not working:

    M584 X0 Y1 Z2:4 E3 ;

    This command only defines one extruder driver. E3. Unless you have a duex or external driver, you only have 1 extruder.

    @GG said in New Duet 2 extruder not working:

    M350 X16 Y16 Z16 E16: I1 ; configure microstepping with interpolation

    This command has a colon after the E16: which means it should have a second value for the second extruder if it exists. Remove the : if it doesn't exist.

    @GG said in New Duet 2 extruder not working:

    M92 X80.00 Y80.00 Z4000.00 E420.00:420.00 ; set steps per mm
    M566 X900.00 Y900.00 Z12.00 E120.00:120.00 ; set maximum instantaneous speed changes (mm/min)
    M203 X6000.00 Y6000.00 Z180.00 E1200.00:1200.00 ; set maximum speeds (mm/min)
    M201 X500.00 Y500.00 Z20.00 E250.00:250.00 ; set accelerations (mm/s^2)
    M906 X800 Y800 Z800 E800:800 I30 ; set motor currents (mA) and motor idle factor in per cent

    These commands have two values for E as if you have two extruders. If you only have 1 extruder, remove the second E value.

    @GG said in New Duet 2 extruder not working:

    ; Tools
    M563 P0 D0 H1 S"Extruder" ; define tool 0
    G10 P0 X0 Y0 Z0 ; set tool 0 axis offsets
    G10 P0 R0 S0 ; set initial tool 0 active and standby temperatures to 0C
    M563 P1 D1 H2 F0 ; define tool 1
    G10 P1 X0 Y0 Z0 ; set tool 1 axis offsets
    G10 P1 R0 S0 ; set initial tool 1 active and standby temperatures to 0C

    You have Tool0 and tool1 defined, but only the one extruder driver in M584. If you only have 1, delete Tool1.



  • @Phaedrux Brilliant all sorted. Im new to this game so would never have figured it out,extruder now behaving well to commands Thanks for help. One more thing If I may, I can home all three axis using DWC but if I try to home with paneldue buttons it moves Gantry diagonally and then crashes into end stops including Z. Its as if paneldue is not seeing config g , any ideas , also is there any web files for filament file creation as when I tell extruder to load filament it tells me no filament found


  • Moderator

    @GG said in New Duet 2 extruder not working:

    I can home all three axis using DWC

    How exactly are you homing in DWC?

    The Paneldue homing buttons just execute the homing macros found in /sys/homex.g etc. The DWC homing buttons should do the same exact thing. So maybe you are running macros that aren't in /sys?

    The filament load buttons depend on your having some macros created for different filaments to specify how to behave. They must be created. You can also just manually set the temp and load filament as you need.

    https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Filaments



  • @Phaedrux Im just pressing the Home x button on the dash board and that seems to work ok but not with paneldue buttons, Im obviously missing something here


  • Moderator

    Post your homing files (which should be in /sys/)



  • @Phaedrux ; homex.g
    ; called to home the X axis
    ;
    ; generated by RepRapFirmware Configuration Tool v2.1.8 on Wed May 06 2020 16:21:04 GMT+0800 (中国标准时间)
    G91 ; relative positioning
    G1 H2 Z5 F6000 ; lift Z relative to current position
    G1 H1 X-235 F1800 ; move quickly to X axis endstop and stop there (first pass)
    G1 H2 X5 F6000 ; go back a few mm
    G1 H1 X-235 F360 ; move slowly to X axis endstop once more (second pass)
    G1 H2 Z-5 F6000 ; lower Z again
    G90 ; absolute positioning
    ; homey.g
    ; called to home the Y axis
    ;
    ; generated by RepRapFirmware Configuration Tool v2.1.8 on Wed May 06 2020 16:21:04 GMT+0800 (中国标准时间)
    G91 ; relative positioning
    G1 H2 Z5 F6000 ; lift Z relative to current position
    G1 H1 Y-215 F1800 ; move quickly to Y axis endstop and stop there (first pass)
    G1 H2 Y5 F6000 ; go back a few mm
    G1 H1 Y-215 F360 ; move slowly to Y axis endstop once more (second pass)
    G1 H2 Z-5 F6000 ; lower Z again
    G90 ; absolute positioning
    ; homez.g
    ; called to home the Z axis
    ;
    ; generated by RepRapFirmware Configuration Tool v2.1.8 on Wed May 06 2020 16:21:04 GMT+0800 (中国标准时间)
    G91 ; relative positioning
    G1 H2 Z5 F6000 ; lift Z relative to current position
    G1 H1 Z-205 F1800 ; move Z down until the endstop is triggered
    G92 Z0 ; set Z position to axis minimum (you may want to adjust this)

    ; Uncomment the following lines to lift Z after probing
    ;G91 ; relative positioning
    ;G1 Z5 F100 ; lift Z relative to current position
    ;G90 ; absolute positioning

    ; homeall.g
    ; called to home all axes
    ;
    ; generated by RepRapFirmware Configuration Tool v2.1.8 on Wed May 06 2020 16:21:04 GMT+0800 (中国标准时间)
    G91 ; relative positioning
    G1 H2 Z5 F6000 ; lift Z relative to current position
    G1 H1 X-235 Y-215 F1800 ; move quickly to X and Y axis endstops and stop there (first pass)
    G1 H2 X5 Y5 F6000 ; go back a few mm
    G1 H1 X-235 Y-215 F360 ; move slowly to X and Y axis endstops once more (second pass)
    G1 H1 Z-205 F360 ; move Z down stopping at the endstop
    G90 ; absolute positioning
    G92 Z0 ; set Z position to axis minimum (you may want to adjust this)

    ; Uncomment the following lines to lift Z after probing
    ;G91 ; relative positioning
    ;G1 Z5 F100 ; lift Z relative to current position
    ;G90 ; absolute positioning


  • Moderator

    @GG said in New Duet 2 extruder not working:

    ; Z-Probe
    M574 Z1 S2;
    M558 P1 H3 F120 A10 S0.03 I1 ; set endstops controlled by probe
    M558 P1 H5 F120 T6000 ; disable Z probe but set dive height, probe speed and travel speed
    M557 X15:215 Y15:195 S20 ; define mesh grid

    You've got a probe defined, but your homing files are using an endstop.

    Do you have a probe installed?

    You should combine the two M558 lines you have into one line.



  • @Phaedrux Yes I m using the original z probe which triggers in DWC at 990 and also stops the bed when raising to nozzle and the led flashes. I think its a inductive type



  • @Phaedrux Yes yuo are right, the whole z probe config looks a bit confusing to me one line says set endstop controlled by probe and the next says disable probe ???



  • @Phaedrux How would I combine the two M558 lines


  • Moderator

    @GG said in New Duet 2 extruder not working:

    G1 H1 Z-205 F360 ; move Z down stopping at the endstop
    G90 ; absolute positioning
    G92 Z0 ; set Z position to axis minimum (you may want to adjust this)

    To change to using the z probe you need to modify your homeall and homez to use a G30 command instead of this endstop homing move.

    Replace that section with something like this

    G1 X150 Y150 ; move probe to center of bed
    G30 ; probe z0
    G1 X0 Y0 ; return to home position


  • Moderator

    @GG said in New Duet 2 extruder not working:

    @Phaedrux How would I combine the two M558 lines

    M558 P1 H5 F120 T6000 A10 S0.03



  • @Phaedrux z homing now moves to centre of bed, great but does not home because dwc says probe already triggerd at start of movement, I could see it was already at 1000 at start of home


  • Moderator

    @Phaedrux said in New Duet 2 extruder not working:

    @GG said in New Duet 2 extruder not working:

    @Phaedrux How would I combine the two M558 lines

    M558 P1 H5 F120 T6000 A10 S0.03

    Sorry I neglected to add the I1 from one of your commands to invert the signal.

    M558 P1 H5 F120 T6000 A10 S0.03 I1



  • @Phaedrux Thanks got that sorted. In DWC when I use z button after homing, to move 5mm it moves 50mm , Any help appreciated .GG


Log in to reply