Making babysteps permanent in gcode

• So I think I'm over the major hurdles with the Duet 2 Maestro on my Ender 5 Plus (thanks in large part to this community, I cannot thank you all enough). One of the last things I had to tackle was a good first layer. I was struggling with the fact that my nozzle was too close to the print bed. Using some advice and reading I learned how to use the baby steps feature to work to dial it in.

My question; Once we have that dialed in the way it should be, how do we take that offset number from the baby steps and make it permanent in gcode? I am new to reprap as I was on Marlin with my older makerfarm prusa i3 clone.

Thanks again in advance for any help you can offer!

• How are you setting Z? A switch? A bltouch?

I ask because the answer is "adjust the Z offset in whatever defines Z". But that doesn't tell you specifically enough... so, what defines Z0?

• @Danal thank you for replying! I use the bltouch that came stock with the printer.

• Take a look at G31:

https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Gcode#Section_G31_Set_or_Report_Current_Probe_status

I believe this will do what you want, offset Z. You would put it in your config.g AFTER the M558 that defines the probe.

• In my config.g I have this command

M208 X-2:277 Y-5:300 Z-3:285 ; XYZ min/max

And I apply permanent baby steps by adjusting the Z value in reversed direction. E.g. if baby steps was +0.2mm I substract 0.2mm from the Z value.

Sometimes I also just set the Z offset in my slicer since optimal baby steps for PETG and PLA are different on my machine, maybe because of the different bed temperature, not sure.

• @zapta said in Making babysteps permanent in gcode:

M208 X-2:277 Y-5:300 Z-3:285 ; XYZ min/max

no as danal said, you use the G31 to adjust the offset of the probe not M208

Can you post your full config and homeall? Then we can tell you exactly what needs to be changed. I get the sense that things are more complicated than they should be.