Z probe back to micro sw.



  • Im reviewing the settings for my z probe
    It origansly csme with the sw. I went to an capasitive probe to be able to use bead lev. Compensation. I could not get consistain reads from the sensor and decided i would try a sw on top of the hot end to use the tip of the nozzle to sense the glass build plate.
    Here is my question ????
    I wish to use the original wire endstop plug and not the z probe connector on the side of the board
    What type or probe # to i pick... there are three choices i can see for an end sw. Which would
    be best for my aplication. #4 #8 ???


  • Moderator

    It would help to know what firmware you are using and what Duet board.

    https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Connecting_a_Z_probe#Section_Microswitch

    In RRF3 it would be easier because you could define the endstop pin you want to use right in the M558 command.



  • Duet wifi 2 board and i have never updated the firmware since i bought the board a over year ago.
    Ill do a firnware update when im all done with the rebuild...curenty .. firmware 😳😬 ver 1.21 🙄



  • What i would like clarified is which of the choices of z stop should i use for the best results
    #8 sais the quickes respomce time but there are two other choices that could work. What would be the default setting if i just use a end sw.
    Are the other settings not a match??
    If i plan on using the limit on the top of my extrude
    (Hemera direct drive) to do mesh bed levelingndoes that precude a difent onput piont than the original
    Endstop plug onthe duet wifi card??



  • Also g code is as follows:
    ; endstops.
    M574 X1 Y1 Z1 S1

    ; z-probe
    ; m588 P5 5 F100 T2000
    M558 P5 H5 F100 T4000
    I THINK ALL I MEED TO CHAINGE IS THE P5
    What do i change it too??
    please confirm. Thanks


  • Moderator

    @Phaedrux said in Z probe back to micro sw.:

    https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Connecting_a_Z_probe#Section_Microswitch

    I can read this link and retype it if you want, but wouldn't it just be easier if you just read it for yourself?



  • So here is where im at now.
    Ive got everything working including the endsw.
    Unfortunately the dwc tells me z prob allrwady engaged at start of probe.
    When i hit the estop for z the led goes out so the dwc is reading the switch. But no mater what i change the card still sees the switchbas open ????😳
    Im lost


  • Moderator

    include parameter I1 in the M558 command if you are using a normally-open switch.



  • sw set to n/ c



  • ; Configuration file for Duet WiFi (firmware version 1.21)
    ; executed by the firmware on start-up
    ;
    ; generated by RepRapFirmware Configuration Tool on Thu Sep 06 2018 21:21:12 GMT-0700 (Pacific Daylight Time)

    ; General preferences
    G90 ; Send absolute coordinates...
    M83 ; ...but relative extruder moves

    ; Network
    M550 Pe3 ; Set machine name
    M552 S1 ; Enable network
    ;*** Access point is configured manually via M587
    M586 P0 S1 ; Enable HTTP
    M586 P1 S0 ; Disable FTP
    M586 P2 S0 ; Disable Telnet

    ; Drives
    M569 P0 S0 ; Drive 0 goes forward
    M569 P1 S0 ; Drive 1 goes backwards
    M569 P2 S1 ; Drive 2 goes forwards
    M569 P3 S0 ; Drive 3 goes backwards

    M569 P3 S1 ; Drive 3 (Extruder 0) goes backwards

    M350 X16 Y16 Z16 E16 I1 ; Configure microstepping with interpolation
    ; M92 X79.7 Y320 Z400.4 E96 ; Set steps per mm
    M92 X79.2 Y320 Z400.5 E96 ; Set steps per mm

    M566 X1600 Y500 Z24 E300 ; Set maximum instantaneous speed changes (mm/min)
    M203 X30000 Y1600 Z300 E1500 ; Set maximum speeds (mm/min)
    M201 X500 Y500 Z300 E5000 ; Set accelerations (mm/s^2) is 500
    M906 x950 Y1200 Z850 E950 I30 ; Set motor currents (mA) and motor idle factor in per cent
    M84 S300 ; Set idle timeout

    ; Axis Limits
    ; M208 X-5.5 Y-10 Z0 S1 ; Set axis minima
    ; M208 X495 Y495 Z460 S0 ; Set axis maxima

    M208 X0 Y0 Z0 S1 ; Set axis minima
    M208 X500 Y500 Z500 S0 ; Set axis maxima

    ; Endstops
    M574 X1 Y1 Z1 S1 ; Set endstops controlled by sw. Z controlled by capasitive sensor

    ; Z-Probe
    ; M558 P4 H5 F100 T2000 ; Set Z probe type to capasitive and the dive height + speeds
    M558 P4 H5 F100 T4000 ; Set Z probe type to capasitive and the dive height + speeds
    G31 P500 X-42 Y-5 Z1.12 ; Set Z probe trigger value, offset and trigger height - is Nozzle hoger

    M557 X15:215 Y35:215 S20 ; Define mesh grid

    ; Heaters
    M305 P0 T100000 B4138 R4700 ; Set thermistor + ADC parameters for heater 0
    M143 H0 S120 ; Set temperature limit for heater 0 to 80C
    M305 P1 T100000 B4400 R4700 ; Set thermistor + ADC parameters for heater 1
    M143 H1 S280 ; Set temperature limit for heater 1 to 240C

    ; M307 H1 A245.3, C121.7, D4.0, S0.5 ; PID

    ; Fans
    ; M106 P0 S1 I0 F500 H T45 ; Set fan 0 value, PWM signal inversion and frequency. Thermostatic control is turned on
    ; M106 P1 S0 I0 F500 H-1 ; Set fan 1 value, PWM signal inversion and frequency. Thermostatic control is turned off

    M106 P0 S0 I0 F500 H-1 ; Set fan 0 value, PWM signal inversion and frequency. Thermostatic control is turned off
    M106 P1 S1 I0 F500 H1 T45 ; Set fan 1 value, PWM signal inversion and frequency. Thermostatic control is turned on

    ; Tools
    M563 P0 D0 H1 ; Define tool 0
    G10 P0 X0 Y0 Z0 ; Set tool 0 axis offsets
    G10 P0 R0 S0 ; Set initial tool 0 active and standby temperatures to 0C

    here is my conf g
    ; Automatic saving after power loss is not enabled
    ; Custom settings are not configured
    ; Enable Bed Leveling
    ;G29 S1 ;commented out Enable Mesh Bed Leveling


  • Moderator

    Well if it's saying it's already triggered you need to invert the signal, so try adding I1 to M558.



  • and home all and home z
    , home z
    ; homez.g
    ; called to home the Z axis
    ;
    ; generated by RepRapFirmware Configuration Tool on Thu Sep 06 2018 21:21:12 GMT-0700 (Pacific Daylight Time)
    G91 ; relative positioning
    G1 Z2.5 F6000 S2 ; lift Z relative to current position
    G90 ; absolute positioning
    G1 X51 Y20 F6000 ; go to first probe point
    G30 ; home Z by probing the bed
    ; Uncomment the following lines to lift Z after probing
    ;G91 ; relative positioning
    ;G1 S2 Z2.5 F100 ; lift Z relative to current position
    ;G90 ; absolute positioning



  • so I-1 got rid of the error but the sw. is still inactive



  • the led next to z driver plugs goes out when i trip sw. it dust doesnt do anything


  • Moderator

    Well I would suggest trying to upgrade to RRF3 which makes defining pins for probes a lot more flexible.

    You could try swithing to using the Z probe connector and using mode 5.

    https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Connecting_a_Z_probe#Section_Mode_Num_5



  • my concern is with my limited knowledge i might get lost if i dont make it at lease run
    after its running that will be my first task. if that makes sense.. ive noticed several thing that need changes like compensation is commented out and the size specked out for it so... i would like to correct everything before i update....im close... thanks to you...👍 i wanted to make sure were talking about the same thing the first set of pins in the x.y.z stops is where im pluged in... not the z probe... i am assuming when i pick #4 it activates the z stop pins?
    n /c switch opens on activation....



  • im trying the z prob connection now


  • Moderator

    If you really want to use the Z stop, you would want mode 7.

    https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Connecting_a_Z_probe#Section_Mode_Num_7, but it's not used in modern firmware, but since you're on a very old firmware it would probably work for you.



  • would rather use z stop connection i just have a setting off if you ask me
    the led is functioning just the way its suposto


  • Moderator

    So M558 P7 uses the Z stop endstop in your firmware version.



  • thanks got that part



  • so this is what cured my problem for the time being
    z probe connector #7 didnt work at first changed to #5 and the z stop registered on the duet interface unfortunately we added the I-1 to m558 which i removed. problem resolved
    Thank you... phaerdrux


Log in to reply