DUEX 5 - E4-E6 not working and a bit more...



  • Hey there,

    not sure what happened but it seems that my duex 5 (with the duet 2 wifi) has some issues:

    -E4-E6 drivers aren't responding
    -heaters led lights are always on (even when not connected)

    any thoughts?
    what did I do ?

    it's less than a year old..

    thanks!


  • administrators

    Check the connections between the Duet and the DueX, in particular the ground connection between the VIN terminal blocks of the Duet and DueX5.



  • I'll look into that.

    I've tried to connect a spare duex 5 I have and works fine...



  • OK so the connections looks good but still something still looks funky.
    I've got another somewhat similar situation on a fresh duex 5, maybe it's related:
    I can't get the E3-E6 to drive, E2 works just fine, it's not cable related it connections (at least I don't think so).

    It kinda smells like a config issue. here are the commands:

    ; Drives
    M569 P0 S1 ; Drive X
    M569 P1 S1 ; Drive Y
    M569 P2 S1 ; Drive Z1
    M569 P3 S1 ; Drive E0
    M569 P4 S1 ; Drive Z2 (E1)
    M569 P5 S1 ;Drive PRINT-HEAD (E2)
    M569 P6 S0 ; Drive Q12 (E3)
    M569 P7 S0 ; Drive D34 (E4)
    M584 X0 Y1 Z2:4 E3:5:6:7 P4 ; Use E1 for Z axis

    M350 X32 Y32 Z16:16 I1 ; Configure microstepping with interpolation
    M350 E16 I0 ;microstepping without interpolation
    M92 X157.63 Y158.96 Z400:400 E115:315:50:50 ; Set steps per mm
    M566 X1200 Y1200 Z24:24 E800 ; Set maximum instantaneous speed changes (mm/min)
    M203 X30000 Y30000 Z600:600 E15000 ; Set maximum speeds (mm/min)
    M201 X500 Y500 Z100:100 E6000 ; Set accelerations (mm/s^2)
    M906 X800 Y800 Z800:800 E2500:1500:540:540 I30 ; Set motor currents (mA)
    M84 S30 ; Set idle timeout

    ; Tools
    M563 P0 D0:1 S"T0" ;Define tool 0
    M563 P1 D2 S"T1" ;Define tool 1
    M563 P2 D3 S"T2" ;Define tool 2
    M563 P3 D0:1 S"T3" ;Define tool 3
    M567 P0 E3:1 ;MIXING RATIO tool 0
    M567 P1 E1 ;MIXING RATIO tool 1
    M567 P2 E1 ;MIXING RATIO tool 2
    M567 P3 E1.5:3 ;MIXING RATIO tool 3
    G10 P0 ;Set tool 0 axis offsets
    G10 P1 X-57 Y-10 ;Set tool 1 axis offsets
    G10 P2 X110 Y19 ;Set tool 2 axis offsets
    G10 P3 X0 Y0 ;Set tool 3 axis offsets

    The strange issue is that the E3 sometimes did work... I am not sure what happened but it worked fine then it stopper then it did and now it doesn't...
    When I "extrude" Tool 1 I don't get any speed indication displayed on the web control.
    Same with the rest of tools that I configured.

    thoughts? is my gcode off? could it be hardware related?

    thanks



  • BTW I switched to 600W 24V psu cause I thought it might related to not enough juice in the system due to several motors running simultaneously.


  • Moderator

    @CJ-BRAVO try removing P4 from
    M584 X0 Y1 Z2:4 E3:5:6:7 P4 ; Use E1 for Z axis
    It’s trying to display a fourth axis that isn’t there!

    Ian


  • Moderator

    On your motor settings, you’ve set Zxx:xx (second xx is ignored, multiple settings only work for extruder axes), but not Exx:xx:xx:xx. Not sure if extra extruder motors are using default settings. Try sending each of the motor settings Gcode and see how motors are set, eg send M566 to check jerk setting is applied to all extruder motors.

    Ian



  • @droftarts
    ok, so how should my lines looks like?

    M584 X0 Y1 Z2:4 E3:5:6:7 P3 ; CHANGE TO P3 axes ?

    I've got double Z motors on my setup...


  • Moderator

    @CJ-BRAVO said in DUEX 5 - E4-E6 not working and a bit more...:

    @droftarts
    M584 X0 Y1 Z2:4 E3:5:6:7 P3 ; CHANGE TO P3 axes ?

    Just drop the 'P' parameter completely. It's only there to hide additional axes after XYZ excluding extruders (eg UVWABC), which you don't have. See M584.

    M584 X0 Y1 Z2:4 E3:5:6:7; Use E1 for Z axis
    

    All of the motor settings should be in the form Xxx Yxx Zxx Exx:xx:xx:xx. See this note on any of the motor setting gcodes, eg M92

    RepRapFirmware does not support individual motor settings where an axis has multiple motors connected to different stepper drivers. The first parameter specified will be used for all motors on the axis. You should use identical motors on any axis that has more than one motor to avoid unexpected behaviour.
    Example: If you have two motors on your Z axis, physically connected to Z and E0 stepper drivers, configured with M584 Z2:3, set M92 Z80, not M92 Z80:80

    Extruders drives, though defined with M584 E3:5:6:7, are individual axes, so should have settings applied for them.

    M350 X32 Y32 Z16 I1 ; Configure microstepping with interpolation
    M350 E16:16:16:16 I0 ; microstepping without interpolation
    M92 X157.63 Y158.96 Z400 E115:315:50:50 ; Set steps per mm
    M566 X1200 Y1200 Z24 E800:800:800:800 ; Set maximum instantaneous speed changes (mm/min)
    M203 X30000 Y30000 Z600 E15000:15000:15000:15000 ; Set maximum speeds (mm/min)
    M201 X500 Y500 Z100 E6000:6000:6000:6000 ; Set accelerations (mm/s^2)
    M906 X800 Y800 Z800 E2500:1500:540:540 I30 ; Set motor currents (mA)
    

    Be aware you have your motor currents on each extruder motor set differently, with E3 at 2500mA.

    Ian



  • @CJ-BRAVO said in DUEX 5 - E4-E6 not working and a bit more...:

    M569 P0 S1 ; Drive X
    M569 P1 S1 ; Drive Y
    M569 P2 S1 ; Drive Z1
    M569 P3 S1 ; Drive E0
    M569 P4 S1 ; Drive Z2 (E1)
    M569 P5 S1 ;Drive PRINT-HEAD (E2)
    M569 P6 S0 ; Drive Q12 (E3)
    M569 P7 S0 ; Drive D34 (E4)
    M584 X0 Y1 Z2:4 E3:5:6:7 P4 ; Use E1 for Z axis

    ohhhh ok... I'll check it out.
    yes, I have multiple extruders with different currents.
    I thought that if I have the same settings for some motors I can get away with it if I just combine the setting
    i.e "M350 E16 I0 ;microstepping without interpolation"

    thanks!


  • administrators

    @CJ-BRAVO said in DUEX 5 - E4-E6 not working and a bit more...:

    I thought that if I have the same settings for some motors I can get away with it if I just combine the setting
    i.e "M350 E16 I0 ;microstepping without interpolation"

    Yes, that's generally the case with extruders. You can check it, in the above example by sending that command and then sending M350 without parameters to report the current values.


  • Moderator

    @CJ-BRAVO said in DUEX 5 - E4-E6 not working and a bit more...:

    I thought that if I have the same settings for some motors I can get away with it if I just combine the setting
    i.e "M350 E16 I0 ;microstepping without interpolation"

    Yes, and I said that you can check this in an earlier post. However, I thought it would be best to put all these in explicitly, so you know all the settings are in there correctly! Then see if this solves the problem of E3 not working, before looking at the tool assignments.

    What firmware version are you using? Send M115 and post response.

    Ian



  • @droftarts

    ok it looks like its working... took off "P4".

    so when should I use that command?

    thanks!


  • Moderator

    @CJ-BRAVO said in DUEX 5 - E4-E6 not working and a bit more...:

    @droftarts
    ok it looks like its working... took off "P4".
    so when should I use that command?

    Your machine is set up so it doesn't need it, as you only have X, Y, Z and E axes. But interesting that putting P4 in messed up the first extruder drive. Will need to test and raise as bug if necessary.

    The following is just an example!

    Say you have an extra axis, U, that follows Z; perhaps a camera is mounted on it that tracks the bed or nozzle. Most of the time you want the U axis to mimic movement of the Z axis (because most slicers only slice for 4 axes - XYZE), but you need to home it individually. You define all of the axes with
    M584 X0 Y1 Z2:3 U3 E4 P3
    which leave only XYZ visible (P3). Moving Z will move U as well. But you need to home U independently, which you can only do when it's 'visible'. So in your homing macro, you would have something like:

    M584 Z2 U3 P4 ; break Z into separate axes, show 4 axes
    G1 [home Z]
    G1 [home U]
    M584 Z2:3 U3 P3 ; recombine Z, show 3 axes
    

    See more detail here: https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Guide/Independent+Z+motors+and+endstop+switches/18

    A more extravagant example of this is @deckingman 's machine, see https://forum.duet3d.com/topic/12887/my-corexyuvab-as-of-today. It is a CoreXY machine, but it has 3 separate XY axes, as it has to move a lot of weight; one for the mixing nozzle, one that copies the movements of the nozzle but carries the extruders (because of the weight of six extruders), and then a third XY axes that moves in the reverse direction, with a mass to reduce amount the machine shakes! I think all these get homed individually by splitting out the axes, homing and recombining. Or at least used to, not sure exactly how he's doing it in RepRapFirmware 3, as now you don't necessarily have to split out the axes.

    Ian



  • ok so....... extruders aren't working again.
    really not sure whats the deal.

    Yesterday took off the famous "P4" and it worked. tried to run the system again today and nada...

    any new leads?


  • Moderator

    @CJ-BRAVO Probably you sent something in the console that you didn't update in the config.g. Please post you full current config.g for checking. You never said what firmware version you are running; please send M115 and post response.

    Also, having just answered another question about mixing ratios, I see that yours are a bit odd; T0 is E3:1, and T3 is E1.5:3. Usually mixing ratios should add up to 1, or, in your case, you will massively over-extrude.

    Ian



  • Thanks for the quick response!

    firmware:
    FIRMWARE_NAME: RepRapFirmware for Duet 2 WiFi/Ethernet FIRMWARE_VERSION: 2.04RC1 ELECTRONICS: Duet WiFi 1.02 or later + DueX5 FIRMWARE_DATE: 2019-07-14b1

    full config file:

    ; Configuration file for Duet WiFi (firmware version 1.21)
    ; executed by the firmware on start-up
    ;
    ; generated by RepRapFirmware Configuration Tool v2 on Thu May 02 2019 17:36:54 GMT+0300

    ; General preferences
    G21 ; Work in millimetres
    G90 ; Send absolute coordinates
    M83 ; ...but relative extruder moves
    M555 P2 ; Set firmware compatibility to look like Marlin
    M568 ; tool mix ratios on

    ; Axis Limits
    M208 X0 Y0 Z0 S1 ; Set axis minima
    M208 X300 Y400 Z400 S0 ; Set axis maxima

    ; Network
    M550 P ; Set machine name
    M552 S1 ; Enable network
    M587 ; Configure access point. You can delete this line once connected
    M586 P0 S1 ; Enable HTTP
    M586 P1 S0 ; Disable FTP
    M586 P2 S0 ; Disable Telnet

    ; Drives
    M569 P0 S0 ; Drive X goes backwards
    M569 P1 S0 ; Drive Y goes backwards
    M569 P2 S1 ; Drive Z1 goes forwards
    M569 P3 S0 ; Drive E0 FEEDER
    M569 P4 S1 ; Drive Z2 (E1) forwards
    M569 P5 S0 ;Drive (E2) goes forwards
    M569 P6 S0 ; Drive holder (E3)
    M569 P7 S0 ; Drive (E4)
    M584 X0 Y1 Z2:4 E3:5:6:7 ; Use E1 for Z axis

    M350 X32 Y32 Z16:16 I1 ; Configure microstepping with interpolation
    M350 E16:16:16:16 I0 ;microstepping without interpolation
    M92 X157.63 Y158.96 Z400:400 E115:315:50:50 ; Set steps per mm
    M566 X1200 Y1200 Z24:24 E800:800:800:800 ; Set maximum instantaneous speed changes (mm/min)
    M203 X30000 Y30000 Z600:600 E15000:15000:15000:15000 ; Set maximum speeds (mm/min)
    M201 X500 Y500 Z100:100 E6000:6000:6000:6000 ; Set accelerations (mm/s^2)
    M906 X800 Y800 Z800:800 E2500:1200:500:750 I30 ; Set motor currents (mA) and motor idle factor in per cent
    M84 S30 ; Set idle timeout

    ; Axis Limits
    M208 X0 Y0 Z0 S1 ; Set axis minima
    M208 X400 Y400 Z300 S0 ; Set axis maxima

    ; Endstops
    M574 X1 Y1 S1 ; Set active high endstops

    ; Z-Probe
    M558 P0 H5 F120 T6000 ; Disable Z probe but set dive height, probe speed and travel speed
    ; M557 X15:0 Y15:195 S20 ; Define mesh grid

    ; Heaters
    M307 H0 B0 S1.00 ; Disable bang-bang mode for the bed heater and set PWM limit
    M307 H1 B0 S1.00 ; Disable bang-bang mode for the Hotend heater and set PWM limit
    M305 P0 T100000 B4138 C0 R4700 ; Set thermistor + ADC parameters for heater 0
    M307 H0 A107.3 C652.0 D0.6 S1.00 ; Bed PID
    M143 H0 S120 ; Set temperature limit for heater 0 to 120C
    M305 P1 T100000 B4138 C0 R4700 ; Set thermistor + ADC parameters for heater 1
    M307 H1 A284.4 C163.5 D1.5 S1.00 V12.1 B0 ; Hotend PID
    ; M307 H1 A105.3 C77.4 D1.5 S1.00 V12.1 B0 ; PID FOR INLINE HEATER ;
    M143 H1 S250 ; Set temperature limit for heater 1 to 120C
    M302 P1 S0 ; Allow cold extrusion minimum of 0

    ; Fans
    M106 P0 S1 I0 F500 H T45 ; Set fan 0 value, PWM signal inversion and frequency. Thermostatic control is turned on
    M106 P3 S1 I0 F500 H1 T45 ; Set fan 1 value, PWM signal inversion and frequency. Thermostatic control is turned on

    ; Tools
    M563 P0 D0:1 S"A" ;Define tool 0
    M563 P1 D0 S"B" ;Define tool 1
    M563 P2 D3 S"C" ;Define tool 2
    M563 P3 D0:1 S"D" ;Define tool 3
    M567 P0 E3:1 ;MIXING RATIO tool 0
    M567 P1 E1 ;MIXING RATIO tool 1
    M567 P3 E1.5:3 ;MIXING RATIO tool 3

    G10 P0 ;Set tool 0 axis offsets
    ; G10 P1 X-67 Y-16 ;Set tool 1 axis offsets

    ; Automatic power saving
    M911 S10 R11 P"M913 X0 Y0 G91 M83 G1 Z3 E-5 F1000" ; Set voltage thresholds and actions to run on power loss

    ; Custom settings are not configured

    ; M581 E2 S1 T0 C0 ; T0 = emergency stop on trigger
    ;M581 E2 S1 T3 C0 ; emergency stop on trigger3.g
    ; M581 E3 S1 T2 C0 ; prime-MIX - trigger2.g


    And yes, mixing ratios are odd - I am not extruding your regular filament.


  • Moderator

    @CJ-BRAVO said in DUEX 5 - E4-E6 not working and a bit more...:

    FIRMWARE_VERSION: 2.04RC1

    Update to 2.05; it fixes a few bugs. https://github.com/dc42/RepRapFirmware/releases/tag/2.05

    You've defined a bed and hot end heater, but haven't defined a tool that uses the hot end heater, and so the temperature monitoring attached to that heater. Same for fans. Is that intentional? This shouldn't stop the extruders working, as they are only mapped to extruder drives.

    You don't need the M568 at the beginning; it's deprecated. See https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Gcode?revisionid=HEAD#Section_M568_Turn_off_on_tool_mix_ratios

    For most of your motor settings, you've still got Znn:nn. Though this doesn't matter, and the firmware will ignore the second number, it's better to remove colon and second number.

    M350 X32 Y32 Z16:16 I1 - firmware will not be interpolating microsteps on X and Y. Duet Wifi only has interpolation at x16 microstepping

    Otherwise, I'm struggling to see what could be wrong. The only other thing is the current that you're pushing through E0, 2.5A. This might be causing the stepper driver to overheat and cut out, but you should get warnings of this in DWC.

    Can you send M122 after you send a command that doesn't move, and post the report?

    Ian



  • I've updated RRF to 2.05

    I don't need the bed actually - I've got a modified cr10-s4, I noticed that (at least in the past) that I get an error if I tried to remove the bed related commands from config. I don't need it for my prints. can I just remove the beds' heater and such?

    I removed M568.

    the cr10-s4 has a double Z axes, I mapped the 2nd Z on E0 - suggested by a fellow cr10/duet user, instead of using the 2nd Z axis - it was not recommended to use the duets' 2ns Z spot with the cr10 motors or something as such.. don't really remember the reason.

    2.5A per motor, I thoght can handle that? I've got a 600W 25A psu for that reason...
    that motor also doesn't work all the time..

    At the moment the extruders work fine.........

    I'll attach M122 anyway:

    12:46:51 PMM122
    === Diagnostics ===
    RepRapFirmware for Duet 2 WiFi/Ethernet version 2.05 running on Duet WiFi 1.02 or later + DueX5
    Board ID: 08DGM-956GU-DGMSN-6JKF2-3SD6R-TVR3H
    Used output buffers: 3 of 24 (12 max)
    === RTOS ===
    Static ram: 25712
    Dynamic ram: 94364 of which 0 recycled
    Exception stack ram used: 376
    Never used ram: 10620
    Tasks: NETWORK(ready,628) HEAT(blocked,1232) DUEX(suspended,160) MAIN(running,3728) IDLE(ready,160)
    Owned mutexes:
    === Platform ===
    Last reset 00:08:54 ago, cause: software
    Last software reset at 2020-01-17 12:37, reason: User, spinning module GCodes, available RAM 10724 bytes (slot 1)
    Software reset code 0x0003 HFSR 0x00000000 CFSR 0x00000000 ICSR 0x0441f000 BFAR 0xe000ed38 SP 0xffffffff Task 0x4e49414d
    Error status: 0
    Free file entries: 10
    SD card 0 detected, interface speed: 20.0MBytes/sec
    SD card longest block write time: 0.0ms, max retries 0
    MCU temperature: min 32.3, current 32.4, max 34.1
    Supply voltage: min 23.9, current 24.0, max 24.2, under voltage events: 0, over voltage events: 0, power good: yes
    Driver 0: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 1: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 2: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 3: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 4: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 5: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 6: standstill, SG min/max 0/0
    Driver 7: standstill, SG min/max 0/55
    Driver 8: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 9: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Date/time: 2020-01-17 12:46:49
    Cache data hit count 1608398685
    Slowest loop: 3.96ms; fastest: 0.07ms
    I2C nak errors 0, send timeouts 0, receive timeouts 0, finishTimeouts 0, resets 0
    === Move ===
    Hiccups: 0, FreeDm: 160, MinFreeDm: 158, MaxWait: 222302ms
    Bed compensation in use: none, comp offset 0.000
    === DDARing ===
    Scheduled moves: 16, completed moves: 16, StepErrors: 0, LaErrors: 0, Underruns: 0, 0
    === Heat ===
    Bed heaters = 0 -1 -1 -1, chamberHeaters = -1 -1
    === GCodes ===
    Segments left: 0
    Stack records: 1 allocated, 0 in use
    Movement lock held by null
    http is idle in state(s) 0
    telnet is idle in state(s) 0
    file is idle in state(s) 0
    serial is idle in state(s) 0
    aux is idle in state(s) 0
    daemon is idle in state(s) 0
    queue is idle in state(s) 0
    autopause is idle in state(s) 0
    Code queue is empty.
    === Network ===
    Slowest loop: 15.52ms; fastest: 0.01ms
    Responder states: HTTP(0) HTTP(0) HTTP(0) HTTP(0) FTP(0) Telnet(0) Telnet(0)
    HTTP sessions: 1 of 8

    • WiFi -
      Network state is running
      WiFi module is connected to access point
      Failed messages: pending 0, notready 0, noresp 0
      WiFi firmware version 1.23
      WiFi MAC address
      WiFi Vcc 3.38, reset reason Turned on by main processor
      WiFi flash size 4194304, free heap 25272
      WiFi IP address
      WiFi signal strength -60dBm, reconnections 0, sleep mode modem
      Socket states: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

    thanks a lot!!!



  • ok so now it doesn't work, here's the m122:

    12:50:34 PMM122
    === Diagnostics ===
    RepRapFirmware for Duet 2 WiFi/Ethernet version 2.05 running on Duet WiFi 1.02 or later + DueX5
    Board ID: 08DGM-956GU-DGMSN-6JKF2-3SD6R-TVR3H
    Used output buffers: 3 of 24 (9 max)
    === RTOS ===
    Static ram: 25712
    Dynamic ram: 94364 of which 0 recycled
    Exception stack ram used: 344
    Never used ram: 10652
    Tasks: NETWORK(ready,752) HEAT(blocked,1232) DUEX(suspended,160) MAIN(running,3728) IDLE(ready,160)
    Owned mutexes:
    === Platform ===
    Last reset 00:00:56 ago, cause: software
    Last software reset at 2020-01-17 12:49, reason: User, spinning module GCodes, available RAM 10612 bytes (slot 2)
    Software reset code 0x0003 HFSR 0x00000000 CFSR 0x00000000 ICSR 0x0441f000 BFAR 0xe000ed38 SP 0xffffffff Task 0x4e49414d
    Error status: 0
    Free file entries: 10
    SD card 0 detected, interface speed: 20.0MBytes/sec
    SD card longest block write time: 0.0ms, max retries 0
    MCU temperature: min 32.0, current 32.2, max 32.7
    Supply voltage: min 23.9, current 24.0, max 24.2, under voltage events: 0, over voltage events: 0, power good: yes
    Driver 0: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 1: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 2: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 3: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 4: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 5: standstill, SG min/max 0/213
    Driver 6: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 7: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 8: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Driver 9: standstill, SG min/max not available
    Date/time: 2020-01-17 12:50:33
    Cache data hit count 144601954
    Slowest loop: 2.10ms; fastest: 0.07ms
    I2C nak errors 0, send timeouts 0, receive timeouts 0, finishTimeouts 0, resets 0
    === Move ===
    Hiccups: 0, FreeDm: 160, MinFreeDm: 159, MaxWait: 44391ms
    Bed compensation in use: none, comp offset 0.000
    === DDARing ===
    Scheduled moves: 1, completed moves: 1, StepErrors: 0, LaErrors: 0, Underruns: 0, 0
    === Heat ===
    Bed heaters = 0 -1 -1 -1, chamberHeaters = -1 -1
    === GCodes ===
    Segments left: 0
    Stack records: 1 allocated, 0 in use
    Movement lock held by null
    http is idle in state(s) 0
    telnet is idle in state(s) 0
    file is idle in state(s) 0
    serial is idle in state(s) 0
    aux is idle in state(s) 0
    daemon is idle in state(s) 0
    queue is idle in state(s) 0
    autopause is idle in state(s) 0
    Code queue is empty.
    === Network ===
    Slowest loop: 15.49ms; fastest: 0.00ms
    Responder states: HTTP(0) HTTP(0) HTTP(0) HTTP(0) FTP(0) Telnet(0) Telnet(0)
    HTTP sessions: 1 of 8

    • WiFi -
      Network state is running
      WiFi module is connected to access point
      Failed messages: pending 0, notready 0, noresp 0
      WiFi firmware version 1.23
      WiFi MAC address
      WiFi Vcc 3.39, reset reason Turned on by main processor
      WiFi flash size 4194304, free heap 25032
      WiFi IP address
      WiFi signal strength -61dBm, reconnections 0, sleep mode modem
      Socket states: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

    The only driver working is driver 5...

    After updating the firmware I only turned on driver 6 and 7 (E3/E4) which worked fine.
    then I turned on E1 (driver 5) worked as usual then tried again dr 6/7 and do not respond again.......



  • ok. current update - it works.
    I've updated the DWC to the latest version 2.06 and everything currently works (all tools and drivers).

    don't know if that due to the dwc update but at the moment everything looks fine.
    another thing that I did is to disconnect the mosfet (stock from cr10) that was connected but as I said before I'm not using the bed/heater so I disconnected that as well.

    Let's see whats next 🙂

    p.s.
    I found "M140 H-1" to disable the bed heater which looks better now on the dwc 🙂

    cheers!



  • @dc42

    Hey David, back to the original post - I've checked the funky duex 5, ground and all but still it acts funny like I mentioned earlier.

    Can I check anything else?

    thanks


  • administrators

    Hard to say, but my guess would be a bad ground connection or over-voltage on +5V has caused that. Is either of the 74HCT02 chips on the DueX getting hot?



  • @CJ-BRAVO One thing I noticed in your config.g is that you are using the format Znnn:nnn for your Z axis speeds, accelerations, steps per mm etc. It isn't necessary even though you have multiple motors, because it's a single axis. It is necessary for extruders because each separate extruder is treated like a separate axis.

    It probably isn't doing any harm and the extra values after the colon are likely just being ignored but who knows?? It might be wise to tidy that up and remove the multiple, colon separated values for the Z axis (just in case).



  • @deckingman

    OK I'll change it.
    I've got my initial config setup from a fellow double Z axis user who sent his config.

    Thanks


Log in to reply