Fine tunning setup for Ender 5 plus



  • Hi all,

    A few weeks ago I posted here asking for your help on getting the wiring done correctly on my Ender 5 Plus and since I've managed to do several prints which I'm very happy with but now it's time to start tunning and tweaking my settings so I have some questions.

    When a print starts printing the nozzle is not close enough to the bed so tried to rely on the z-offset but i get an error when I ask it to go down so have to "manually" raise the bed for the filament to stick to the bed; I assume that this is just a setting to be changed on the config.g file?

    Please note that this happens despite à BLTouch being used.

    As I'm still a noob on this hardware and firmware so I'm still reading documentation and I see that a lot of task can be done using macros like the load and unload of filament; I'm currently on the mesh bed compensation section but something is not right, as an example when sending a M564 S0 nothing happens, same thing when sending the G1 Z1 so I'm assuming something must not be right on my config.g file.

    Here's my config.g, do you guys see any errors ?

    ; Configuration file for Duet 3 (firmware version 3)
    ; executed by the firmware on start-up
    ;
    ; generated by RepRapFirmware Configuration Tool v3.1.4 on Sun Oct 04 2020 22:37:40 GMT+0200 (heure d’été d’Europe centrale)

    ; General preferences
    G90 ; send absolute coordinates...
    M83 ; ...but relative extruder moves
    M550 P"Ender 5 Plus" ; set printer name

    ; Network
    M552 P0.0.0.0 S1 ; enable network and acquire dynamic address via DHCP
    M586 P0 S1 ; enable HTTP
    M586 P1 S0 ; disable FTP
    M586 P2 S0 ; disable Telnet

    ; Drives
    M569 P0.0 S0 ; physical drive 0.0 goes backwards
    M569 P0.1 S0 ; physical drive 0.1 goes backwards
    M569 P0.2 S0 ; physical drive 0.2 goes backwards
    M569 P0.4 S0 ; physical drive 0.4 goes backwards
    M584 X0.0 Y0.1 Z0.2:0.3 E0.4 ; set drive mapping
    M350 X16 Y16 Z16 E16 I1 ; configure microstepping with interpolation
    M92 X80.00 Y80.00 Z800.00 E130.00 ; set steps per mm
    M566 X900.00 Y900.00 Z12.00 E120.00 ; set maximum instantaneous speed changes (mm/min)
    M203 X6000.00 Y6000.00 Z180.00 E1200.00 ; set maximum speeds (mm/min)
    M201 X500.00 Y500.00 Z20.00 E250.00 ; set accelerations (mm/s^2)
    M906 X800 Y800 Z800 E800 I30 ; set motor currents (mA) and motor idle factor in per cent
    M84 S30 ; Set idle timeout

    ; Axis Limits
    M208 X0 Y0 Z0 S1 ; set axis minima
    M208 X350 Y350 Z400 S0 ; set axis maxima

    ; Endstops
    M574 X2 S1 P"io0.in" ; configure active-high endstop for high end on X via pin io0.in
    M574 Y2 S1 P"io1.in" ; configure active-high endstop for high end on Y via pin io1.in
    M574 Z2 S2 ; configure Z-probe endstop for high end on Z

    ; Z-Probe
    M950 S0 C"io4.out" ; create servo pin 0 for BLTouch
    M558 P9 C"^io4.in" H5 F120 T6000 ; set Z probe type to bltouch and the dive height + speeds
    G31 P500 X30.814 Y17.505 Z2.385 ; set Z probe trigger value, offset and trigger height
    M557 X15:350 Y15:350 S20 ; define mesh grid

    ; Heaters
    M308 S0 P"temp1" Y"thermistor" T100000 B4092 ; configure sensor 0 as thermistor on pin temp1
    M950 H0 C"out0" T0 ; create bed heater output on out0 and map it to sensor 0
    M307 H0 B0 S1.00 ; disable bang-bang mode for the bed heater and set PWM limit
    M140 H0 ; map heated bed to heater 0
    M143 H0 S120 ; set temperature limit for heater 0 to 120C
    M308 S1 P"temp0" Y"thermistor" T100000 B4092 ; configure sensor 1 as thermistor on pin temp0
    M950 H1 C"out1" T1 ; create nozzle heater output on out1 and map it to sensor 1
    M307 H1 B0 S1.00 ; disable bang-bang mode for heater and set PWM limit

    ; Fans
    M950 F0 C"out7" Q500 ; create fan 0 on pin out7 and set its frequency
    M106 P0 C"Part cooling fan" S0 H1 T45 ; set fan 0 name and value. Thermostatic control is turned on
    M950 F1 C"out8" Q500 ; create fan 1 on pin out8 and set its frequency
    M106 P1 C"Hot-end fan" S1 H1 T45 ; set fan 1 name and value. Thermostatic control is turned on
    M950 F2 C"out4" Q500 ; create fan 2 on pin out4 and set its frequency
    M106 P2 C"Motherboard fan" S1 H-1 ; set fan 2 name and value. Thermostatic control is turned off

    ; Tools
    M563 P0 S"E0" D0 H1 F0 ; define tool 0
    G10 P0 X0 Y0 Z0 ; set tool 0 axis offsets
    G10 P0 R0 S0 ; set initial tool 0 active and standby temperatures to 0C
    M563 P1 S"E1" D1 H2 F0 ; define tool 1
    G10 P1 X0 Y0 Z0 ; set tool 1 axis offsets
    G10 P1 R0 S0 ; set initial tool 1 active and standby temperatures to 0C

    ; Custom settings are not defined

    ; Miscellaneous
    M575 P1 S1 B57600 ; enable support for PanelDue

    M501

    Thanks in advance for you help.



  • adjust the height with babystepping while printing the first layer.
    once the layer is good adjust the z offset of G31 by the babystepping that you have found.



  • thank you, will give it a try


  • Moderator

    @aldiallo said in Fine tunning setup for Ender 5 plus:

    when sending a M564 S0 nothing happens, same thing when sending the G1 Z1

    What are you expecting to happen?

    M564 S0 won't have any visible effect.

    G1 Z1 would either move to Z1 or move Z by 1mm depending on if it's in absolute or relative movement mode.

    Have you calibrated the probe trigger height?

    https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Test_and_calibrate_the_Z_probe

    After that you can fine tune with the method Veti describes.



  • Hi @Phaedrux

    This is happening during the height calibration following the steps indicated on that link you sent, ok for M564 S0 but when doing the G1 Z1 I was expecting to see some movement at the motor level but nothing and also the G30 S1 reading where not consistent hence why I'm asking.

    Thanks



  • Hello,

    Still struggling getting this right as still not been able to get this completed without issues and still getting inconsistent values when triggering the probe to test the height, also seems like I screw up my homing setup as when homing the system goes off on the front left side.

    Here's my homeall.g
    ; homeall.g
    ; called to home all axes
    ;
    ; generated by RepRapFirmware Configuration Tool v3.1.4 on Sun Oct 04 2020 22:37:40 GMT+0200 (heure d’été d’Europe centrale)
    G91 ; relative positioning
    G1 H2 Z5 F6000 ; lift Z relative to current position
    G1 H1 X355 Y355 F2000 ; move quickly to X and Y axis endstops and stop there (first pass)
    G1 H2 X5 Y5 F6000 ; go back a few mm
    G1 H1 X355 Y355 F360 ; move slowly to X and Y axis endstops once more (second pass)
    G90 ; absolute positioning
    G1 X175 Y175 F6000 ; go to first bed probe point and home Z
    G30 ; home Z by probing the bed

    ; Uncomment the following lines to lift Z after probing
    ;G91 ; relative positioning
    ;G1 Z5 F100 ; lift Z relative to current position
    ;G90 ; absolute positioning

    Homez.g:

    ; homez.g
    ; called to home the Z axis
    ;
    ; generated by RepRapFirmware Configuration Tool v3.1.4 on Sun Oct 04 2020 22:37:40 GMT+0200 (heure d’été d’Europe centrale)
    G91 ; relative positioning
    G1 H2 Z5 F3000 ; lift Z relative to current position
    G90 ; absolute positioning
    G1 X175 Y175 F3000 ; go to first probe point
    G30 ; home Z by probing the bed

    ; Uncomment the following lines to lift Z after probing
    ;G91 ; relative positioning
    ;G1 Z5 F100 ; lift Z relative to current position
    ;G90 ; absolute positioning

    Thanks for your help!




  • Moderator

    Where are your endstops physically located?

    M574 X2 S1 P"io0.in" ; configure active-high endstop for high end on X via pin io0.in
    M574 Y2 S1 P"io1.in" ; configure active-high endstop for high end on Y via pin io1.in

    That indicates they are on the high end of travel, meaning based on a 0,0 origin in the front left corner the endstops would be at the right and back sides.

    Have you leveled your bed and calibrated your extruder recently?

    Have you done G29 to get a heightmap of your bed surface?



  • @Veti said in Fine tunning setup for Ender 5 plus:

    https://forum.duet3d.com/topic/6962/m48-measure-z-probe-repeatability-and-print-to-serial-output

    Hello,

    Tired this on getting errors:

    Z Probe already triggered at the start of probing move.



  • @aldiallo

    remove M401 and M402



  • Hi @Phaedrux

    The endstop switches are in the right side for X and Y is at the back right side hand side when looking at the printer from the front.

    When the head goes to the 0,0 origin the probe is outside of the bed, so my probe location based on the nozzle seems to be incorrect.


  • Moderator

    @aldiallo said in Fine tunning setup for Ender 5 plus:

    When the head goes to the 0,0 origin the probe is outside of the bed, so my probe location based on the nozzle seems to be incorrect.

    That's typical of using a high end endstop. You can measure your actual axis length by homing the nozzle to be where you want 0,0 to be. Then sending G92 X0 Y0, then you can send G1 H3 X400 which will move the x axis to the endstop and set the current position as the axis max. Whatever the X axis position is should be what your M208 maxima is. Then you can do the same for the Y axis.



  • @Phaedrux

    I based the M208 maxima on the bed size so 350 for X and Y shouldn't that be correct??

    Thanks


  • Moderator

    Measure as I described to find out



  • @Phaedrux

    I did what you indicated, should I be seeing any results on the web interface? I've sent both commands and the print head moved to the end stop each time but that's it, not sure if I should have get a result for each axis that I should then input to the config.g file?!

    on the tool position status I see X at 163,8 and Y at 174,4 and this is with the printhead at the endstop switch of both X and Y axis.


  • Moderator

    If you started at 0,0 and moved to the endstop from there then that's your axis length that should be in m208.

    168 is far from 350. You moved the nozzle to the front corner of the bed and sent g92 x0 y0?



  • @Phaedrux

    I did a home all first to bring the print head to the front left hand side and then executed the G92 X0 Y0 prior to running the G1 H3 on both X and Y axis as per your suggestion.

    Something is not right but I don't know what.


  • Moderator

    Are you saying that homeall brings your printer to the front left side?

    After you've done a homeall, manually jog the print head to place then nozzle at the front left corner of the printable area. Then send G92 X0 Y0. That way when you jog the print head over to the other end of the axis you'll have the actual length of the printable area.



  • @Phaedrux

    When I do a home all the printhead moves to the right and back until hitting the endstop switches for X and Y the it moves to the front left side and deploys the bltouch, as the BLTouch is outside of the printable area I touch it when the bed is at the level of the ouch deployed tip is just after that that I send the G92 X0 Y0 and then the G1 H3 for the X and Y axis; I also tried moving the X to the right to get the BLTouch inside the printable area but still getting the similar results for X and Y in the tool status section.


  • Moderator

    Ok based on your homeall and your described behaviour your M208 axis length is way off or your steps per mm for X and Y is way off.

    When you hit the endstops it takes the value from M208, so it thinks it's at 350. Then your homeall tries to move to the center of the bed but you say it's actually trying to move off the edge of the far left and front.

    So how big is your bed actually? Do you have a ruler?

    If you tell the printer to move X10 does it actually move 10mm?



  • @Phaedrux

    The printable area is 350 * 350 * 400 but the physical size of the bed from what I've mesure is about 380 for X and 372 for Y; not sure what other Ender 5 Plus users using duet hardware are using but when I builded the firmware I entered 350 for X and Y and 400 for Z.

    When I ask the printer to move 10mm for example x+10, it does move, but haven't mesured how much it moves thought but seems to me that it's moving around 10mm but will check that; now not sure if the issue is on the config.g or on the home*.g files


  • Moderator

    See if you can create yourself a diagram like this that shows all the relevant positions and distances and offsets for the XY plane.

    Bed Area.png

    Maybe capture a video of what you're trying to do to show what's happening. That can be a huge help for understanding what's actually going on there.



  • ok, will do that and report back.

    thanks



  • Hi all,

    Took some time as been quite busy lately but print is now done correctly without manual intervention, and it sticks fine.

    Still need to do some fine tuning here and there in order to redo a proper level calibration.

    I assume that I can enable auto home and autobed level calibration and also enable resume printing on power loss by adding relevant commands on my config.g file, correct?

    Additional question, I'm used to use Octoprint and that the fact that we can access everything on the duet web interface makes Octoprint irrelevant on some aspects, but there à lot of very useful, for example I used Octoprint ot power up a smart plug to turn the printer on, also the spaghetti detective to stop the printer if it detects that the printer is failing, is this something that can be done with the duet Interface or in the case this is not possible s there any concerns on using them in tandem?


  • Moderator

    @aldiallo said in Fine tunning setup for Ender 5 plus:

    I assume that I can enable auto home and autobed level calibration and also enable resume printing on power loss by adding relevant commands on my config.g file, correct?

    I'm not exactly sure what you're asking.

    https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Using_mesh_bed_compensation
    https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Bed_levelling_using_multiple_independent_Z_motors
    https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Setting_up_to_resume_a_print_after_a_power_failure

    @aldiallo said in Fine tunning setup for Ender 5 plus:

    is this something that can be done with the duet Interface or in the case this is not possible s there any concerns on using them in tandem?

    Not at the moment. Plugins and using an rpi with the duet are in the works.

    You can use octoprint with the duet, though it's not recommended and you do lose some features.

    https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Firmware_Overview#Section_Printing_over_USB_connection_Octoprint_Cura_Simplify3D_Etc


Log in to reply