PanelDueFirmware 3.2.4 released


  • Moderator

    I am pleased to announce yet another release of PanelDueFirmware. This build is mainly intended to fix boot issues with PanelDue v2 but also has some minor improvements.

    Version 3.2.4

    Upgrade Notes:

    • This release is compatible with RepRapFirmware 3.2-beta1 or later. It will partially work with RepRapFirmware 3.1.1 but not with any older version.

    Limitations

    • Due to the lack of RAM this build will not run on version 1 or early version 2 PanelDue boards that use the ATSAM3S2B chip.
      • Version 1.0, 1.1 and earlier v2 PanelDue: ATSAM3S2B processor (64MHz, 32kb RAM, 128kB flash) - these are the ones that the new firmware probably won't run on.
      • Version 2 PanelDue manufactured from August 2016: ATSAM3S4B processor (64MHz, 48kb RAM, 256kb flash). Will run the new firmware, but not as fast as version 3 will.
      • Version 3 PanelDue, including all 5i and 7i: ATSAM4S4B processor, 120MHz, 64kB RAM, 256kb flash. Will run the new firmware.
    • There will be no reliable status updates coming from RepRapFirmware while waiting for heaters to reach temperature (and some other cases) before RRF 3.2-beta3.2.

    New and changed features:

    • Add button to reprint/resimulate last file

    Bug fixes:

    • For PanelDue v2 the wrong linker script was used resulting in PanelDueFirmware not booting
    • After a print/simulation has finished some of the elements partially remained on screen

    Known Issues:

    • Reprint/resimulate button fails if filename (incl. path) exceeds 40 characters

    Downloads and Instructions

    Binaries can be found at https://github.com/Duet3D/PanelDueFirmware/releases/tag/3.2.4
    Flashing instructions can be found at https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/PanelDue_Firmware_update



  • +1 for re-print button!



  • Hi,
    V2 Board and 5"LCD works with this firmware.
    Problem solved,
    Many Thanks



  • Awesome! I can confirm that firmware v3 works on PanelDue v2!



  • 1c02b607-3b25-434a-9fde-8b8bb322789d-obraz.png
    CSS fu..ed up a little bit? πŸ˜‰



  • @BoA
    its not html, so no css πŸ™‚



  • @Veti I know that. Somehow I thought that a little dev style humor would be clear here πŸ˜‰


  • Moderator

    @BoA Thanks. I'll fix that in the next release. And if it were CSS... believe me it would look much worse if I am the developer. πŸ˜‚


  • Moderator

    @worekarolis @cgcafer Thanks for confirming compatibility with V2 boards! And thanks to @dc42 for spotting the config error.



  • I've been getting some strange errors popping up on the PanelDue after updating to 3.2.4, none of the errors show up in the console on DWC and i can't find them if i scrub thru my print-gcode or any of my filament, toolchange, firmware retraction or current macro-files either.

    Heres ha pic of them:
    alt text

    I don't know if this is a PanelDue issue, but since i didn't get them before the update and i can't find them any other place i'm giving it a shot.


  • administrators

    Looks like character loss between PanelDue and the Duet. It could be caused by a bad connection, or the baud rate being too high for the cable length.



  • or interference from other cables. i.e motor cables.



  • @dc42 said in PanelDueFirmware 3.2.4 released:

    Looks like character loss between PanelDue and the Duet. It could be caused by a bad connection, or the baud rate being too high for the cable length.

    I'll re-check the connections again, but the cable length is "only" 60cm, should that be enough to cause issues by itself? It's been the same length since i built the machine so just curious if that's stretching the limit to some extent, and resulting in only a minor bad connection on one of the sides is enough to cause problems?

    @Veti said in PanelDueFirmware 3.2.4 released:

    or interference from other cables. i.e motor cables.

    No other cables running along that side of the printer, so i can rule that out luckily πŸ™‚



  • @Exerqtor said in PanelDueFirmware 3.2.4 released:

    I'll re-check the connections again, but the cable length is "only" 60cm, should that be enough to cause issues by itself?

    you could also try twisting or braiding the cables .



  • Today, for the first time, I tried "print again" button. And... it does not work. Perhaps file name is too long, or something, but I got the message that my file (with name cut in the middle) has not beed found. 😞

    File name: voron_80t_hubbed_gear_x4_rev2_10mm_0.2mm_NYLON_MK3S_2h3m.gcode

    7b21aa1b-ed2f-4cbe-ac94-5114cc8c465c-obraz.png


  • Moderator

    @BoA thanks for reporting. I'll fix that in the next release.



  • 20201203_182007.jpg

    20201203_122651.jpg

    Hello,
    on the last sale bought fystec paneldue 5i (clone), updated it to 3.2.4. Installed and turned on the power. I was very surprised to change the color palette from RGB to BGR. Is this a display issue or a firmware feature?

    Thanks.



  • @Karabox strongly doubt your harware shit the bed "just" with a fw update. Have you tried rolling back to 1.23.2 and then upgrade to 3.2.4 again to see if that remedy it?



  • the first thing I did was update the firmware to 3.2.4, then I noticed that the red and blue colors were changed

    I don’t know how it was before the firmware update πŸ˜ƒ

    I tried now to update 4.3 (v3.0) display to version 3.2.4 - red color in place πŸ˜ƒ

    20201203_215207.jpg


  • Moderator

    @Karabox said in PanelDueFirmware 3.2.4 released:

    on the last sale bought fystec paneldue 5i (clone), updated it to 3.2.4. Installed and turned on the power. I was very surprised to change the color palette from RGB to BGR. Is this a display issue or a firmware feature?

    It seems that fsytec is not using the exact same display as the Duet PanelDue 5i and thus the display driver will not match.

    You could try to use the PanelDue-v3-5.0.bin instead. It might work since it uses a slightly different display driver.

    But note that for clones there is no support.



  • @wilriker, the web interface shows slicer based time estimation. Are these estimations also visible in the latest version of paneldue?

    faee8890-6c0a-42c8-83a5-ab20305be277-image.png

    In general they are the most accurate and most linear among the estimations provided by the web interface.

    Extra points: allows the user to disable all but the slicer based information. All we need is just one good estimation. πŸ˜‰



  • @wilriker said in PanelDueFirmware 3.2.4 released:

    You could try to use the PanelDue-v3-5.0.bin instead. It might work since it uses a slightly different display driver.

    But note that for clones there is no support.

    You were right, the firmware came up, the red color is in place. Thank you very much!


  • Moderator

    @zapta The slicer based estimate is a feature of DWC and thus not accessible by PanelDue that is connected to RepRapFirmware.



  • will future firmwares have a command to switch baud rate to 115200 for users still running 57600 or will the new default be 115200 with appropriate change to the reprap config tool?



  • @wilriker, do you know how the web interface does it? Do they read the gcode file independently? Do they track the execution of the progress gcode markers embedded in the gcode file?

    Would be great this slicer estimation and progress marker be tracked by the Duet natively. This estimation is more accurate and makes all the other time estimations obsolete.

    (I have a post processing script that among other things, propagate the slicer time markers to paneldue, displaying hours and minutes left in the standby temp fields of nozzle and bed respectively. It's very accurate but hackish).


Log in to reply